Teams ‘borrowing’ licence of qualified coaches will face action – AFL

PETALING JAYA – Amateur Football League (AFL) chairman Datuk Mohd Yusoff Mahadi has warned M3 League teams to stay away from the practice of “borrowing” the licence of qualified coaches when the new division three season begins on Feb 11.

He said stern action would be taken against any team found hiring qualified local coaches as a smokescreen for unqualified foreign individuals to train their teams instead.


According to him, if proven, the matter would be brought to the AFL Board of Directors to decide on appropriate action, besides referring it to the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) and Malaysian Football League (MFL).

“We are together with the MFL and FAM in wanting to prevent such incidents from happening in the AFL. So, I hope the competing teams will comply with the stipulated rules, meaning only local coaches having the A-Licence can be the head coach of M3 League teams.

“We at the AFL will adhere to the rules set by the FAM and MFL, meaning if any coach were to ‘lend’ his credentials to a team, we will surely take action,” he told a media conference after the M3 League draw here today.

It is understood that some M3 League teams had tried to “borrow” the licences of qualified local coaches for foreigners to handle their teams.

The AFL are adamant about not allowing teams to hire the services of foreign players or coaches for the M3 League.

Meanwhile, Mohd Yusoff announced that the prize money for the M3 League champions this season had been increased to RM100,000 compared to RM30,000 previously while the runners-up will receive RM50,000.

The M3 League had been postponed for two straight years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Based on today’s draw, Group A will have comprise the football clubs (FC) of Sains, Malaysia University, Langkawi, Kinabalu Jaguar, Immigration, Manjung City, Ultimate, Tun Razak City, Langkawi City and Armed Forces.

Group B will consist of Perlis United, Tok Janggut Warriors, Harini KS, Kijang Rangers, BRM, Respect, Kuala Lumpur Rovers, Bukit Tambun, PIB and Real Chukai.

According to the tournament format, the top four teams from each group will advance to the quarter-finals after the group stage, which will be held over two rounds. The final is scheduled for Sept 3.