GRS to name new Sabah CM later Sunday

Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor

KOTA KINABALU – The new Sabah chief minister will be named later Sunday, said Sabah Perikatan Nasional (PN) chairman Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor.

Without giving any specific time, he said the announcement will be made in the morning before the candidate is sworn in at Istana Negeri.


Asked if the chief minister candidate will be from among PN or Barisan Nasional (BN) assemblymen, he said: “Let it be a mystery (for now).”

Hajiji spoke at a press conference about two hours after the Election Commission announced the results of the election. GRS, comprising PN, BN and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), won 38 seats to form the new government.

Earlier, Hajiji and several GRS leaders, including Bersatu vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee; Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin and Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president Datuk Yong Teck Lee held a closed-door meeting.

A similar meeting was held separately by BN leaders at another venue.

Hajiji, who retained the Sulaman seat, and Sabah BN chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin have been mentioned as the likely chief minister candidates.

Asked whether the question of the choice of chief minister had been discussed by all GRS leaders, he said: “We are waiting for many elected reps who are away, in the interior. We will make an announcement together.”